Society of Malawi re-elect whole executive

The Society of Malawi, a group which among others, aims at the promotion of interest in literacy, historical and scientific matters has given a fresh mandate to its whole executive during an Annual General Meeting recently held at Blantyre Sports Club.

The committee has Carl Bruessow as chairperson and deputized by Tawanda Tawanda Madovi. Judy Pennington is the honorary secretary while Michael Bamford is the honorary treasurer. Other executive members are Sandy Dudley, Michael Phoya, Amelia Taylor and Professor Cornell Dudley while other positions are that of honorary librarian Dora Wimbush and honorary Journal co-editor Professor Colin Baker.

“It was agreed that the whole out going committee be re-elected and as it is they will continue governing the Society of Malawi for the next administrative year,” confirmed the chairperson Bruessow. During last year’s AGM President Peter Mutharika was conferred patron of the society in absentia while Dr Silas Ncozana was roped in as trustee to join Merry Palmer and Denis Lewis.

The society organizes monthly talks on a wide range of topics, publishes bi-annual journals and also supports the Museums of Malawi in a number of ways. Its other aims include discovering and recording facts and information about Malawi, acquire books on Africa especially those related to Malawi and serve as a reference library to both members and visitors.

Leave a Reply